Soon after proclaiming Christianity in Ireland, St. Patrick
built a church here on land granted to him by the son of the High King.
He built it near an ancient ford that crossed the river just beyond the
bridge and it was from this that Trim got its name.
Surrounding the Castle are fascinating ruins which provide evidence of fervent religious activity. Stone relics abound in St. Patricks Cathedral, its church and porch revealing a number of medieval graveslabs. St. Marys Abbey is the remains of an Augustinian monastery founded in the 12th century and later a focal point for pilgrimage.
The Newtown Monuments consist of a large medieval
cathedral, two monasteries and small church which date from 1206. On the
walls of the church one will find the late 16th century alter tomb with
effigies of Sir Luke Dillon and his wife. The Friary of St. John the
Baptist, is the remains of a 13th century Augustinian foundation, which
was later converted to a hospital in the 18th century.
The Yellow Steeple is the most prominent of the many
ruins in Trim. It overlooks the town from a ridge directly opposite
Trim Castle. Originally part of the 13th century St. Mary's Augustinian
Abbey, the steeple dates from 1368. The black Friary of the Dominicans
was founded by Geoffrey de Geneville, Lord of Meath in 1263.
During the early 1700's Jonathan Swift, author of
Gullivers Travels, was presented with the Vicarage of Laracor in Trim
and spent some of his happiest times in the area as judged by the
'Journal To Stella' which was published after his death. The Duke of Wellington, Sir Arthur Wellesley was educated in Trim and residents erected the Wellington Column to commemorate on of their past pupils.