The Old Stand

Click here to edit subtitle

Trim Castle

Trim Castle, the largest Anglo-Norman castle in Ireland, was constructed over a thirty-year period by Hugh de Lacy and his son Walter. Hugh de Lacy was granted the Liberty of Meath by King Henry II in 1172 in an attempt to curb the expansionist policies of Richard de Clare, (Strongbow).  Construction of the massive three storied Keep, the central stronghold of the castle, was begun c. 1176 on the site of an earlier wooden fortress. This massive twenty-sided tower, which is cruciform in shape, was protected by a ditch, curtain wall and moat. 

Tour of Trim Castle (Mon to Fri)

Guided Tours of the grounds only, are available weekdays November to February by members of the Trim Living History community group.


Maximum number: 20     
Duration: 45 minutes

Last tour 1 hour before closing.
Access to the Keep is by guided tour only for safety reasons.

Leaflet/Guide book: English, French, German

Photography / Video allowed: Yes. Permit required for Commercial Photography.

Additional Information: Please note that this is a very busy site and visitors may experience a delay during the summer months.  Access cannot be guaranteed.  Please arrive early to avoid disappointment.

Access for visitors with disabilities is very restricted.  Please note that some of the stairs in the keep are very steep and narrow.  The keep is not accessible for visitors with disabilities and there is restricted access to the grounds only.  There are interpretation panels in the grounds of the castle which allow for self-guiding.

Find us on Facebook

Follow us on Instagram

Click the blue icon below to view our photos on Instagram!!!

go back to the top

go back to the top

Great Hospitality in the Heart of Trim